What is required to get a drivers license in Utah?

To apply for a first time Utah driver license you must be at least 16 years of age, have held a Utah learner permit for six (6) months if under 18 years of age, furnish proof of a prior driver license or proof of driver education if under 19 years of age, provide two (2) proofs of your Utah residence, proof of identity

How much does it cost to get a drivers license in Utah?

We accept Cash, Checks, Money Orders, and Credit Cards in all of our offices.
Driver License Fees Amount
Learner permit $19.00
Original Class D license (includes over 65) $52.00
Original Class D provisional license $39.00
Original motorcycle endorsement $18.00

What documents do I need to renew my drivers license in Utah?

What You’ll Need to Renew your Utah Driver License
  • Completed Driver License Application (Form DLD6a)
  • Current Utah driver license.
  • Proof of residence – if your address has changed from what is on your current license.
  • Payment of a nonrefundable fee of $52.00.

What counts as proof of residency in Utah?

– Must display the applicant’s name and principal Utah residence address which may include: Bank statement, Court documents, Current mortgage or rental contract, Major credit card bill, Property tax notice statement or receipt, School transcript, Utility bill or a Vehicle title.

What counts as proof of residency?

Current official document with your name and address

A utility bill, credit card statement, lease agreement or mortgage statement will all work to prove residency. If you’ve gone paperless, print a billing statement from your online account.

How long do I have to get a Utah driver’s license?

Schedule a learner’s permit appointment here and bring your application. Provide the required documentation then pass the written knowledge test, eye exam, and pay the $19 fee. Before you can get an unrestricted driver’s license in UT, you must hold the permit for 90 days and practice driving for 40 hours.

Is there a grace period for expired drivers license in Utah?

You’re given a 6 month grace period to renew your driver’s license in Utah. After these 6-months, you will be required to retake the knowledge test, driving exam, in addition to a vision screening. You will also need to provide proof of identity, proof of social security number, as well as proof of Utah residency.

What does the gold star on Utah license mean?

Your current Driver License or Non-Driver Identification Card will be accepted until October 1, 2020. Your Real ID Driver License or Non-Driver Identification Card will be marked with a star in the top right corner to indicate it may be used for federal identification.

How long do I have to get a new license after moving to Utah?

You are not required to obtain a new driver license with current residence, you can simply change your address online within 10 days of moving. Utah law does not have a grace period in which to change an out-of-state driver license to a Utah license.

Is drivers ed required in Utah?

Driver education is required to apply for a Utah driver license. First you must apply for your Utah learner permit to enroll in a driver education course and you are required to carry the learner permit for six (6) months before being able to apply for your driver license.

Can I get my license at 18 without a permit in Utah?

If an applicant is 17 years of age or younger when they apply for their Utah learner permit, they must hold their learner permit for six (6) months before being able to apply for a Utah driver license. However, if the applicant turns 18 during the holding period they may apply for their driver license upon turning 18.

Can I get my license at 21 without a permit in Utah?

If you are older than 18 years of age:

Only operate a motor vehicle if a person 21 years of age or older, who is licensed, is in the seat beside the applicant. You must have the permit in your immediate possession while driving!

How do I get my license at 19 in Utah?

How do I get my drivers license?
  1. Step 1: Take Utah drivers education. If you’re 18 or younger, you must take a DPS-approved Utah drivers education course to earn your license. …
  2. Step 2: Practice driving under supervision. …
  3. Step 3: Take the driving test for the Utah drivers license.

Is the Utah drivers test open book?

If you have been previously licensed in another state or country and you are applying for your first time Utah driver license you will be required to take a 25-question open-book test.

Can you drive alone with a permit in Utah?

Can I drive alone with my Utah learners permit? You can never drive on a Utah learners permit without a licensed adult driver supervising you from the passenger seat.

What happens on the road test in Utah?

The examiner will ask you to show working lights, turns signals, hand signals and horn. Then it’s time for the driving portion, which is about 15 minutes. Each testing location is a bit different so again, we recommend getting familiar with the road test area before taking the test.

Is the Utah written drivers test hard?

The bad news is that you must first pass your Utah DMV permit test, which is proven to be difficult for many. … That’s compared to less than 50% of people overall who pass their test the first time around.

How many questions are on the Utah drivers test?

You may apply for your learner’s permit if you are age 15 or older….FREE Utah DLD Permit Practice Test 2022 | UT.How many questions:50How many correct answers to pass:40Passing score:80%Minimum age to apply for Class D One Year Learner Permit15

How many questions are on the Utah permit test 2021?

The Utah DMV knowledge test consists of 25 questions, and you’ll need at least 20 correct answers to pass (80% or higher). Practice with this sample DMV written test and study the driver’s manual to get ready for the official Utah DMV written test.

What is a three point turn?

What is a Three-Point Turn? The three-point turn is a way of turning a vehicle around in a small space by going forward, turning to one side, then backing up, turning in order to face the other direction, then going forward again. This type of turn is usually done when the road is too narrow for a U-turn.

What are two point turns?

A two-point turn allows you to change direction in areas with low traffic by making use of driveways or cross streets. How to Make a Two-Point Turn. Stop at the end of a driveway or cross street and reverse your vehicle into it. Pull forward into the roadway and make your turn in the other direction.

Can you talk on the phone while driving in Utah?

We all know texting and driving is illegal and dangerous but what about talking on the phone or using GPS? Technically, hand-held use of a cell phone while driving, even just for talking, is illegal, however, it can only be enforced if another traffic violation is committed. …