Before you jump into the process of deleting your account, below are some of the things that you should know.

  • You don’t have to delete your account to change your email or username since you can change them within your account settings.
  • After deleting your account, your username, display name, and the public profile will no longer be viewable on any Twitter platform.
  • You could reclaim your Twitter account within 30 days if your account was deleted accidentally. Or when you change your mind in the course of the 30 days.

Ready to get started? Well, let’s jump into the steps below.

  1. Cancel Twitter Account on Web Using PC or Mac Computer

Launch your browser and head to https://www.twitter.com/. If you’re logged in already, doing that will open your account homepage. But if not yet logged in, type in your username, phone, or email, followed by a password. After that, hit on the “Log in” button.

Check on the left side menu and click on the “More” option. Doing that will prompt a menu to appear.

Click on the “Settings and privacy” option. It’s located in the second section of the settings just below the “Analytics”.

Scroll down to the lower part of the page and click on the “Deactivate my account” under the “Data and permissions” heading. Are you sure you want to get your account deleted? If so, then let’s go ahead and nuke it.

If you’d not wish to use the Twitter username and email or phone on Twitter in the future, skip this step. If you’d wish to use your email and the username on twitter, follow the steps below to change the username and email.

Head to the three-dotted “More” menu located under your profile icon.

Click on the “Settings and privacy” option.

Change your username in the username field under the “Login and Security”.

Head to your email address section and click on the email address. By doing so, you’ll get to the “Change email” section.

With that done, click on the blue “Update email address” link below the email field. By doing that, you’ll be prompted to enter your password.

Enter your password in the provided fields and click on the blue “Next” button at the top-right corner.

Enter a new email in the text field and click on the “Next”. By doing that, a verification code will be sent to your new email.

Retrieve the verification code from the new email account and then feed it in the verification field. Doing so will keep your new settings.

Next, return to the “Settings and privacy” and click on the “Deactivate your account” button found at the bottom of the menu.

After that, click on the red “Deactivate” button at the bottom of the information page.

Type in your Twitter password in the “password” text field provided and finally hit on the “Deactivate”. By clicking on that option, your account will be set for deletion after the 30day grace period window ends. If you deleted your account by mistake, you could still recover it within 30 days.

  1. Cancel Twitter Account on Android and iPhone
  • Locate the Twitter app icon on your home screen. If you’re using an Android  mobile phone, you may find it in the app drawer if not on the home screen.
  • Tap on the white bird with a blue background icon to get your Twitter app launched. Login in with your username and password if prompted.
  • Navigate to the upper left corner of your screen and tap on this  icon located on the top-right corner. If you can’t find the icon, tap on your profile picture. Doing so will prompt a menu to appear.
  • From the menu, tap on the “Settings and privacy”.
  • Next, tap on the “Account” section. It’s the first option found under your username.
  • Scroll to the bottom of your screen and tap the “Deactivate your account” below the “Log Out” button.
  • Next, tap on the “Deactivate”.

Since deactivating your account will render your username and email unavailable, it’s recommended that you change your username and email before deleting the account. This will allow you to use the name and email again in the future to sign up for a twitter account. But if you don’t intend to use them again, you can go ahead and deactivate your account.

  • Provide your password in the provided “password” text field when prompted.
  • Tap on the “Deactivate” button under the password field.

Note: After submitting the account deactivation request, Twitter will hold your account for 30 days before deleting it permanently. If you change your decision before the 30 days are over, you can recover your account.

Send us a feedback0/500

Do you like this article?
Yes
No