In today’s age of technology, being disconnected from social media is nothing less than a feat.

Several social media websites are making an appearance dailyHowever, some classic social media platforms have always been able to capture their audience the best.

These social media platforms have revolutionized how we see social media. These platforms are not only a way to connect with your friends and family anymore. They have turned into a means of connecting with the world and showing a global audience what you have to offer.

Pinterest is one such platform that users can access on both their browsers and mobile applications. This platform makes everything accessible to the users in the form of pictures known as “pins.”

From lifestyle inspiration to fashion advice to recipes and art accounts – Pinterest has it all. People have recently started using the app as a business tool and selling their skills on the app by giving the customers a preview using the features present on the application. It has garnered a significant amount of popularity over the years of its operation and is one of the leading social media platforms globally.

However, it is common for social media users to delete or deactivate their accounts. There are a number of reasons why a person would want to delete their account, but most people do it either because they want to start fresh on a new account or want a social media detox.

If you are looking for a way to delete your Pinterest account, we have a step by step method below.

Why might I need to delete my Pinterest account?

Like any social media or online account, there can be multiple reasons why an individual feels the need to delete their Pinterest account.

While some people might want to delete it because they want a new account or already have one and don’t need two, others might’ve just lost interest in the platform.

In today’s day and age, a lot of people are trying to do what’s called a ‘social media detox,’ which aims at curbing the addictions people have developed to social media and mobile phones.

Pinterest, like other platforms, has made the task of deactivating or deleting your account fairly simple.

How do I go about deleting my Pinterest account?

There are two ways in which you can distance yourself from Pinterest.

You can either temporarily deactivate your account or delete it. Following are the steps you must follow in order to do both;

Deactivation

  • Firstly while logged in to your account, you need to click on your profile button.
  • Next, you need to click on the ‘bolt’ icon on your screen, which will take you to the settings menu.
  • Then you have to tap/click ‘Edit settings’ on your screen and click ‘Deactivate Account’ under ‘Account Basics’ on a desktop or scroll down to click the deactivate button on the phone.
  • All you have to do after this is to let the developers know why you are taking a break and confirm your decision.

Keep in mind that if you log in to check the status of your account, it will be reactivated, so try going to your profile URL to check instead.

Simultaneously you should also remember that deactivating your account will not free up your username or email address.

If you want them freed up, you should either close your account permanently or simply change your username or email address in the settings.

Closing Your Account

Closing your account is just as simple as deactivating it. All you have to do is repeat the above-mentioned steps but instead of selecting ‘Deactivate Account’ you have to select ‘Close your account.’

After confirming this option, your account will be closed. In case you change your mind, Pinterest will archive your data and keep it safe for 14 days, during which you can get your account back.

All you have to do is log in to your account and click the reactivation link.

Conclusion:

You can easily follow the steps listed above on how to delete your Pinterest account permanently. However, you should keep in mind that once the account has been deactivated, there is no way of getting your data back.

If you are simply looking for a time away from social media and want your account out of the public eye for some time, consider deactivating the account instead of permanently deleting it. This will ensure that your data stays safe, and you can log back into your account once you want your account to be active again.

Many users prefer to deactivate their accounts instead of deleting them permanently from the web. Make sure that you want your data gone from Pinterest and have it backed up somewhere else if you need it before you delete your account.

Send us a feedback0/500

Do you like this article?
Yes
No