Be a Yu-Gi-Oh! Master by following these steps.

► Play

Learn about the different types of cards

Before you could start playing the game of Yu-Gi-Oh!, you need to get to know the three main types of cards first: spell cards, monster cards and trap cards.

► Play

Monster cards are considered the protagonist of the match and they come in different types:

  • Normal monsters don’t have any special effects but have higher defense (DEF) and strength (ATK) points as compared to effect monsters.
  • Effect monsters have five types of special abilities. Flip effect can be activated when a card is flipped face-up, continuous effect remains active as long as the monster is face-up in the battlefield, ignition effect can be activated by declaration during the main phase of the battle, trigger effect can be activated at a specific time and quick effect can be activated any time and even if it’s the opponent’s turn.
  • Tuner monsters allow a player to Synchro Summon a Synchro Monster.
  • Synchro monsters are powerful monsters that can be activated through a Synchro Summon or Special Summon.

Spell cards are considered must-haves because of their amazing effects that will surely help you during gameplay. These types of cards are used primarily to strengthen your offense and they can be activated on the same turn while playing them.

Spell cards come in different types: normal spells, ritual spells, continuous spells, equip spells, field spells, quick-play spells.

Trap cards are needed to boost your defense and while some need specific conditions before they can be activated, they play a key role in turning a match around, especially if you’re on the losing side.

There are three common types of trap cards: normal traps, continuous traps and counter traps.

Prepare your decks

► Play

To be eligible for gameplay, you will need three types of Yu-Gi-Oh! Decks: the main deck, the extra deck and the side deck.

Your main deck should contain between 40 and 60 cards but experts say that it’s ideal to keep your deck count close to just 40 so you’ll have a higher chance of drawing your best cards during the match.

Just make sure that you only have a maximum of three copies of the same card in your main deck.

Your extra deck should hold between 0 to 15 cards that’s composed of your Synchro and Fusion monsters that can be used during the match if they meet certain requirements.

Your side deck should also contain 0 to 15 cards that you can customize to fit your opponent or the battle.

You will be given the chance to swap any of your side deck to the main deck after each duel as long as your deck counts remain the same after each swap.

Gather the other items that you’ll need for the match

► Play

Although your decks will play the main role during gameplay, you also need a few extra items to help you during the match. For starters, you need a coin for cards that require a coin flip and a dice for those that require a die roll.

You’ll also need some monster tokens and a counter that you’ll need to keep track of the metrics that may affect your cards during gameplay.

It’s also good to have a calculator to make it easier to track your Life Points, a game mat to help you keep your cards organized and some card sleeves to keep your cards safe from any damage during the match.

Learn where you can and cannot place your cards

► Play

The field is composed of six game zones: monster card zone, spell and trap zone, graveyard, deck zone, field card zone and extra deck zone.

To be able to play Yu-Gi-Oh! effectively, you need to be familiar with these zones.

  • Monster card zone. You are allowed to place up to five monsters here and position them depending on your strategy for the battle.
  • Spell and trap zone. You can place up to five spell and/or trap cards in this area and activate them by positioning them face-up if you’re already going to use them.
  • You will be given a graveyard where you can place all used spell and trap cards as well as destroyed monster cards. They should be organized according to the order when they are sent to the graveyard.
  • Field card zone. This is the post where you can play special spell cards.
  • Extra deck zone. This is where you can put extra deck cards where only you can view them.

Learn to play the game

► Play

Now that you’re familiar with the basics of Yu-Gi-Oh!, you can already learn the game itself. Each player will be given his own turns until the winner is declared and each turn will have six phases:

  • Draw phase. This is where you will draw a card and get the chance to activate your quick-play spells or trap cards.
  • Standby phase. During this time, you’ll need to complete all the requirements or payments needed for effects that you activated.
  • Main phase 1. Here, you will set or summon a monster, activate a card or effect, change monster battle positions or set a spell and trap card.
  • Battle phase. You have the option to not go into battle, but if you do, you have to declare it by saying “I’m entering the battle phase.” You will then need to choose one monster to attack with and select your target. Remember that each monster in the face-up position is only allowed one attack per turn and you can also only do a direct attack to your opponent’s Life Points if he has no monsters in the field. You then need to calculate the results of your match and announce that you are ending this battle phase.
  • Main phase 2. This follows the same steps as main phase 1 unless you already set or summoned a monster with the current turn.
  • End phase. To end the battle, you have to discard any excess cards in your hands because you’re only allowed 6 and you also need to resolve card effects that can be activated in this phase.

Learn about the monster battle rules

► Play

In the battlefield, you can place your cards in three different positions. The face-up attack means that you are declaring an attack and your opponent can also attack your card.

Your monster’s ATK value will be represented in this position. The face-up defense position means that you are only defending your ground but you cannot launch an attack. \

In this scenario, your monster’s DEF value will represent your card.

Finally, the face-down defense position means the same with the face-up defense position except for two things: monsters cannot be equipped while face down but they can be summoned.

So if your monster is attacked while it is face down, you have to flip the card face-up to calculate the necessary damage.

Are you ready to play the amazing and fun game of Yu-Gi-Oh!?

Send us a feedback0/500

Do you like this article?