If the space on your Mac or any iOS device is getting low, you can make use of the iCloud storage provided by Apple.

► Play

How to Store Photos on iCloud from Mac?

If you are running low on your storage or simply want to store a few or all photos on your iCloud, here’s how to get it done using a Mac.

  • On your Mac device, launch the ‘Photos’ application and on the top left corner of your screen, open up the ‘Menu’ with the same name.
  • In the menu, go to ‘Preferences’ and navigate through the options until you land on the iCloud tab.
  • Clicking on the above header will lead to all pictures in your ‘Photos’ app to be uploaded to the iCloud storage.

How to Store Photos on iCloud from PC?

If you are a Windows user and still want to keep your pictures on iCloud rather than Google Photos or anywhere else, here’s what you need to do.

  • From your PC download iCloud application for Windows – https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT204283 and install the downloaded file by following the on-screen instructions.
  • As soon as the file installs, it should open by itself. If it doesn’t, manually open the application and go to ‘Photos’.
  • Under the ‘Photos’ header, go to ‘Options’ and click on it so that it takes you to the next set of options.
  • From the new list, select ‘iCloud Photo Library’.
  • In the dialogue box that appears, click on ‘Done’ and then apply the ‘Settings’.

How to Synchronize the Photos in All the Devices?

When you are using iCloud, you would want your media to be accessible from all your devices. To achieve that, here’s what you need to do.

  • Open the ‘iCloud for Windows’ or ‘Mac’ device and go to the ‘Photos’ section by clicking on the option from the top left.
  • In the ‘Photos Menu’, click on ‘Options’ and then select ‘iCloud Photo Library’.
  • When you are finished, click on ‘Done’ and then click on ‘Apply’.
  • After this, you will also be prompted with the message whether you want to turn on the iCloud Photos feature across all your devices.
  • Click on the ‘Checkbox’ and that will be it. You can access the photo you just uploaded from a desktop through an alternative device with iCloud.

TIPS

  • In case you want to empty the iCloud storage, you can also download the images on your desktop and delete the photos individually from the photos library.

Just like photos, you can store other forms of media on iCloud as well including voice recordings, music, videos, and documents among other things.

How do I move my photos from my iPhone to iCloud?

How to upload photos to iCloud from iPhone or iPad
  1. Go to Settings. This is the cog icon on your home screen.
  2. Select your name.
  3. Tap iCloud.
  4. Tap Photos.
  5. Turn on iCloud Photos. Make sure the button next iCloud Photos is green.
  6. Select how you want to store your photos.
  7. Turn on Upload to My Photo Stream.

How do I save all my photos to iCloud?

First, navigate to Settings > Photos > iCloud Photos and toggle to on, which will automatically upload and store your library to iCloud, including iCloud.com, where you can view and download photos on a computer.

Do photos stay on iCloud if deleted from iPhone?

When you delete a photo or video from the Photos app on your iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, or Mac, it also deletes from your iCloud Photos and any other devices where you’re signed in to iCloud Photos. It also no longer counts towards your iCloud storage.

Is iCloud good for photo storage?

Bottom line. For me, iCloud Photo Library is an excellent way to bring my images and video to all my devices. It boasts impressive sync capabilities, offline photo access, and easy management and backup, even for gigantic libraries. But it also has a few caveats that, while not deal-breakers for me, might be for others

Do photos stay on iCloud forever?

The photos and videos that you delete on one device are deleted everywhere that you use iCloud Photos. Photos and videos stay in the Recently Deleted folder for 30 days before they’re deleted permanently.

What are the disadvantages of using iCloud?

The Cons:
  • Confusion – Confusion lies around photo backups.
  • Storage Cost – You will get 5GB for free, but to utilise additional storage, you will need to pay.
  • Can’t choose what images to sync – Like it not, it’s all or nothing!
  • All Apple – These photos are all tied to Photos for iOs or Photos for Mac.

What is better iCloud or Google Drive?

iCloud is the more secure platform, although Google Drive has made several necessary steps forward recently. Both platforms enable you to use multi-factor authentication, which we highly recommend. Almost all data stored on iCloud’s servers is encrypted both in transit and at rest to 128-bit AES standard.

Is iCloud worth paying for?

iCloud Storage is one of the most misused and misunderstood features of the iPhone. I love Apple products, but there’s no other way to put this: In most cases, buying iCloud Storage is unnecessary and you should never pay for it.

Should I use iCloud or not?

At best, iCloud is good for device backups. Without doing anything, you can seamlessly swap between an iPhone or iPad, or replace an old iPhone with a new one. iCloud’s backups stores your contacts, your list of installed apps and their settings, and your general iOS settings.

What is the point of iCloud?

The purpose of iCloud is to store data and important information securely on Apple’s remote servers (as opposed to your iPhone or iPad). This way, all your information is backed up to a secure location and synchronized between all of your devices.

What is so great about iCloud?

iCloud Seamlessly Connects All Home Electronics

Your iPhone, iPad, and Macbook settings and backups can all be saved in iCloud. Having this kind of integration always makes it easier when using a set of devices that are part of the same tech ecosystem.

What happens if I turn iCloud photos off?

If you turn off the iCloud Photo Library, it will remove photos from your iPhone that weren’t taken on that device. If you want to turn off iCloud Photo Library but keep your Camera Roll as it is, here’s how to ensure current iCloud images aren’t removed during the process. 1.

Will I lose photos if I turn off iCloud?

If you turn off iCloud Photo stream on the device, Photo stream, and the images in the stream folder, are removed from the device, BUT NOT FROM iCloud. If you have any other devices using iCloud photo stream, they will not be impacted. You can also delete from photo stream, just like any folder.

Can you delete photos on phone but keep on iCloud?

Usually, your iPhone automatically backs up to your iCloud account, and if you delete photos from your iPhone, they‘ll also be deleted from your iCloud. To get around this, you can turn off iCloud photo sharing, sign in to a different iCloud account, or use a cloud server other than iCloud for photo sharing.

How do I recover permanently deleted photos from iCloud?

If you have your iPhone, go to Photos -> Albums, scroll all the way down, tap Recently Deleted, tap Select, then select all the photos and tap Recover. Your photos are back where they used to be. Easy! After that, select the photo you want to retrieve and tap Recover.

Are permanently deleted photos gone forever?

If you have turned on back up & sync, photos and videos that you delete will stay in your bin for 60 days before they are deleted forever. Learn how to turn on back up & sync. Tip: To move all your photos to a different account, share your photo library with that account.

How can I recover permanently deleted photos from my iPhone after 30 days?

Your best option how to recover deleted photos after 30 days is to restore them from a local iTunes backup:
  1. Connect your iPhone to your Mac.
  2. Open iTunes.
  3. Select your iPhone.
  4. Click on the Restore Backup button.
  5. Select your backup and wait for the process to finish.

Is it possible to recover permanently deleted photos from iPhone?

Apple added a feature specifically designed for this situation in the photo app called “Recently Deleted”. All deleted photos are stored here for 30 days. If you delete them from the “Recently Deleted” folder, there will be no other way to recover permanently deleted photos from your device, except from a backup.

Send us a feedback0/500

Do you like this article?
Yes
No