While you can always buy more storage in iCloud, but cleaning your data i.e.

media files and documents, etcevery once in a while is always a good idea.

► Play

Clean-Up iCloud Storage on Mac

If you have got photos and videos of large sizes taking up extra space in your iCloud, you start managing it in a Mac device just as easily.

  • First off, turn on your system and hit the Apple icon.
  • Here, you must navigate to ‘System Preferences’ and click on it.
  • Next, you will find the iCloud option where you can now click ‘Manage’ to go about freeing up space.

How to Clean-Up iCloud Storage on iPhone 6?

If you are running out of storage for more photos on your iCloud, you can approach freeing up some space by deleting data you no longer require.

  • Assuming you are using the latest releases of iOS, you can manage your iCloud by first hitting the ‘Settings’ icon in your device.
  • Next, tap on your name and navigate to iCloud.
  • Here you will have options to ‘Manage the Storage’.
  • Go ahead with choosing what to keep and what not to, in your iCloud.

Manage iCloud Usage

If you are not sure how much space you have got left in your iCloud, it’s quite easy to check.

  • Hit the settings in your iPhone or iPad device and tap on your user ID.
  • Next, navigate to the iCloud and tap on it. Here you will get many options to choose from, including an option to manage storage.

Managing iCloud from Windows

If you are using a version of Windows from and after Windows 7, you can easily manage iCloud from your Windows PC.

  • After you start up your machine, go about downloading iCloud for Windows (https://support.apple.com/en-in/HT204283).
  • After it is downloaded, install the application and sign in with your Apple ID.
  • Now you can turn on iCloud and manage your files and media.

How to Clean-Up iCloud Storage Space?

Your Apple devices will stop backing up your files on iCloud once you run out of storage. Any photo you click won’t be uploaded. You won’t even be able to send or receive emails with the email ID associated with your iCloud.

  • You can now either choose to free up space by deleting media as mentioned previously.
  • Should still back up the media files someplace other than the iCloud so that you don’t lose any important file or a photo critical for your memories.
  • You can start by getting rid of spam emails and unnecessary text messages and attachments that you don’t need any more.
  • Reducing media size on iCloud can be quite tedious. You must first backup all your files on iCloud to your computer and then manually go about reducing the size and re-upload.
  • You can also turn off automatic backing up of your media files and documents in the iCloud and choose to save them only in your iPhone or the Apple you are currently using.

TIPS

  • You must remember here that while freeing up space on the iCloud, any file that you delete, will remove for good and becomes permanently inaccessible.

You can buy more space on iCloud if find all the backing up and deleting process to be too tedious.

How do I free up space on my iCloud?

To get rid of these files, open up iCloud from the Settings app (iOS) or System Preferences app (MacOS). Then click or tap Manage Backups to see all of the backups that are currently saved to your iCloud account. Delete the ones you don’t need any longer, and you’ll instantly free up storage space.

How can I view what’s in my iCloud storage?

Check your iCloud storage on your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch
  1. On your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch, go to Settings > [your name] > iCloud. The bar graph shows your overall storage usage.
  2. Tap Manage Storage for more details. Below the graph, you see a list of apps and features and how much iCloud storage they use.

Why is iPhone storage full when I have iCloud?

The biggest thing that takes up storage is photos. If you’re running iOS 9 or later, then go to Settings -> iCloud -> Photos and enable iCloud Photo Library. Then, make sure optimize iPhone storage is checked. Also, delete any apps that you may not use.

Why is my iCloud storage full after deleting photos?

Apple calls this optimizing storage and it’s easy to turn on. When your device gets low on space, iCloud replaces your full resolution photos with these smaller, device-sized versions. And when you edit a photo, it automatically downloads that full-resolution version from iCloud, so you work with the best!

Does deleting pictures free up space?

If you’re still in need of additional storage wiggle room, check out your photo and video albums. Deleting duplicate photos will be a huge help – and you’re likely to have a lot, since it typically takes 10+ tries to get that perfect selfie. But the biggest space saver will be deleting video files.

Why is iPhone backup so big 2020?

To fix the large backup issue: Delete all backups, log out of iCloud, log back in and do a fresh backup. That always works. You can purchase more storage for just one month and back up your phone to be sure it works ok.

Does deleting photos on iPhone free up space?

When you delete a photo on the iPhone it doesn’t actually get deleted. It just gets moved to a special album called Recently Deleted. Once that timer runs out, the photo or video will disappear forever. But while photos and videos remain in the Recently Deleted album, they’re still taking up space on your phone.

Do photos stay in iCloud forever?

The photos and videos that you delete on one device are deleted everywhere that you use iCloud Photos. Photos and videos stay in the Recently Deleted folder for 30 days before they’re deleted permanently.

Where do photos go when permanently deleted?

When you delete pictures on Android phone, you can access your Photos app and go into your albums, then, scroll to the bottom and tap on “Recently Deleted.” In that folder, you will find all the photos you have deleted within the last 30 days.

Where do my photos go when I free up space?

Photos and videos that are fewer than 30 days old may be retained on your device. They’ll still be backed up in your Google Photos library.

Does clearing data delete photos?

You will not lose any of your photos, if CLEAR DATA operation is performed, it is completely safe to do so. This just means that your preferences have been reset and the cache has been cleared. Cache is generated only for providing fast access to gallery files.

Why is Google Photos taking up space on my Iphone?

So the recent trip photos you just uploaded using your PC and viewed from the app, it all gets cached in the memory. So when you open them next time, it will load from the cache, and doesn’t need internet. That caching takes up storage space. Thankfully, Google Photos have the option to limit cache size.

Will I lose my photos if I uninstall Google Photos?

If you delete synced photos from the Google Photos app, it will be deleted from everywhere – your device, the Google Photos app, the Google Photos website, and your file manager app. This will happen even if your Backup & Sync feature is on and whether you’re using an Android or iPhone.

Is Google photos better than iCloud?

Google also points out that iCloud is the storage platform behind Apple’s Photos app, whereas Google Photos offers storage as well as its other features. And that’s credible because Apple is a product company. If you don’t buy its devices and services, it doesn’t make money.

Do photos stay on Google photos if deleted from phone?

Tap on Free up space from the side menu, and tap the Delete button to remove those photos from your device. The deleted photos will still be backed up in Google Photos.

Are deleted photos still in the cloud?

In Photos on iCloud.com, select the photos or videos you want to delete, or double-click a single photo or video. Deleted photos and videos are placed in the Recently Deleted album, where they remain for 30 days before being permanently removed.

Do Google Photos stay forever?

Google will keep your photos as long as your account is still active. In one way, you could call it forever as long as someone periodically logs into the account (Gmail, YouTube, Drive, Photos, etc.).

Why did Google Photos delete my pictures?

It might have been permanently deleted. If the photo has been in trash for more than 60 days, the photo might be gone. It may have been deleted from another app. If you use another photo gallery, and deleted photos there, it may have been deleted before Google Photos was able to back it up.

Send us a feedback0/500

Do you like this article?
Yes
No