Whether your favorite Netflix show was cancelled and you no longer use your account, or you have found a better deal on a different streaming service, you don’t want to pay for something that you are no longer using.
Whatever your reason for cancelling your Netflix account, simply follow these easy steps to be sure that your account is closed and you are no longer being charged.
Log into your account via a web browser to cancel your membership
- Select the “Account” tab and choose “Cancel Membership” which can be found under the “Membership & Billing” section.
- Note: If you signed up for your Netflix subscription through a third party such as iTunes or Google Play, you will have to first cancel your subscription through that third party before you can cancel your account on the Netflix website.
- The cancellation will take effect at the end of your current billing period.
Contact Netflix to have your cancelled account information deleted
- Netflix generally keeps your information for 10 months after you cancel your membership. They do this in case you would like to resume your membership within that time frame, keeping all of your watch lists, settings, contact info etc.
- If you would like this information deleted prior to the close of that 10 month window, you will need to send an email to email@example.com and request that your information be deleted immediately.
- You must send the request for early deletion using the email address that was associated with your Netflix account. Sending the request from another address but including the account address in the body of the email will not be sufficient.
Things to keep in mind when cancelling your Netflix account:
- If you cancel in the middle of your current billing cycle, or any time before that cycle ends, you will still have access to your Netflix account until the end of that cycle. You will still be able to stream movies and television shows until that time period ends.
- Once you cancel your subscription and your membership, you will no longer see monthly charges from Netflix.
- If you had a balance on your account from a gift card, you will have access to your Netflix account until that balance is completely used up.
- Even when you cancel your subscription and delete your account information, Netflix would be happy to have you back, and you can resume your membership and subscription at any time.
If you choose not to delete your account information, and you decide to rejoin with a Netflix membership before 10 months have passed, your watch lists, settings, preferences and other account information will be restored. If it is after the 10 month period and Netflix has automatically deleted your information, you will be prompted to start over and re-enter your information.