One requires a break from the hustle and bustle of life and Twitter is no exception. Here we will provide you with an easy guide on how to deactivate your Twitter account.
How to Deactivate Your Twitter Account on PC
- Log on to the Twitter website using your web browser.
- On the upper right corner of your screen is the gear icon that when you tap will show the drop-down menu. Select settings option from the menu.
- Scroll down on the settings menu and tap on the Deactivate your account button at the bottom of the screen.
- After clicking the button, the deactivating warning will appear which you should go through. Your account can stay up to 30 days before being permanently deleted. This serves as a grace period since you might be indifferent about deleting your Twitter account. You can also reactivate your Twitter account within the 30 days if you just log in to your account.
- Deactivate your Twitter account. You will be required to key in your password for this step. Your data and Twitter account will still be visible for some days.
The best thing about deactivating your Twitter account is that it does not differ whether you are using your PC, iPhone or Android. The only step that you need to take is to download a desktop version of Twitter in your Android and iPhone handsets.
How to Deactivate Your Twitter Account on Android/ iPhone
- You cannot deactivate your Twitter account from your Twitter app. The mobile phone version of the browser cannot also deactivate your account. Request the desktop version of the browser to complete this action.
- Tap on your browser’s menu. A drop-down menu will appear and tap on Request Desktop Site option.
- Log in to your Twitter account if you have not logged in.
- Tap the Settings option. At the bottom of the menu, you will find the Deactivate my account link. Click on this link.
- You will be provided with the deactivation policy which you should read carefully before you comply. The main highlight is the 30 day deactivation period after which the account will be permanently deleted.
- After some time, the Deactivate @username button will appear on the page. You will be required to input your Twitter password to complete this task.
Some information will still be visible for some days after the deactivation period.
Can you temporarily deactivate twitter?
What happens if I deactivate my twitter account?
When you deactivate your account, all your posts, tweets, likes and comments disappear from the site for up to 30 days. This process can take minutes, or it can take a few days, depending on how prolific your Twitter presence was.
Is deactivating the same as deleting twitter?
How long can you temporarily deactivate twitter?
Will I lose followers if I deactivate twitter?
What happens after 30 days of deactivating twitter?
Can you recover a deleted Twitter account after 30 days?
How do I reactivate my twitter after deactivating it?
- Visit twitter.com/login via twitter.com, or open your Twitter for iOS or Android app.
- Enter your login credentials.
- Before you sign in, you’ll see a notice asking you to confirm if you want to reactivate your account.
- If you choose to reactivate, you’ll be redirected to your Home timeline.
What happens after 30 days of deactivating Facebook?
How long can you deactivate your FB account?
The social network said there is no limit on how long a user can keep her account deactivated. But if a Facebook user really wants to make the separation permanent, she can choose to delete the account altogether.
What do my friends see when I deactivate Facebook 2020?
Can I reactivate my Facebook account after 2 years?
Is it possible to recover a permanently deleted Facebook account?
How can I get back my deactivated Facebook account?
Can I get my deactivated Facebook back?
What happens when you deactivate Facebook?
When you deactivate your account, Facebook saves all of your settings, photos, and information in case you decide to reactivate your account. Your information isn’t gone—it’s just hidden. However, it is possible to delete your account permanently with no option for recovery.