TikTok is a fantastic app that allows you to use video content to show off your creativity.

It is a fun way to connect with friends and familySome people have even become famous because of their uploads.

If you decide that this app isn’t right for you, then you’ll want to know how to delete your TikTok account.

► Play

Steps to Following When Deleting a TikTok Account

It is essential to remember that deleting your TikTok account is a permanent decision. The app cannot reverse your actions or recover your content once you follow these steps. If you purchased anything in the app, then you are not eligible for a refund.

  1. Open the TikTok App

You will need to find the black-and-white musical note that represents TikTok on your home screen or in your app drawer. Tap on the icon so that the application opens.

  1. Tap on the Profile Icon

Once TikTok opens, you will need to tap on the icon that looks like a person at the bottom right-hand corner of your screen. It says Me underneath it. If you are not signed in to the account on this device, then the app will ask you to do so at this time. You must complete this step to continue.

  1. Tap the Menu Icon

If you look at the top right-hand corner of your mobile device, you’ll see three horizontal dots. This option is the menu dropdown to manage your account. You will need to navigate to Privacy and Settings. Then choose Manage My Account to continue the effort to delete your TikTok profile.

  1. Scroll Down to Choose the Delete Command

You have the option to switch to a pro account at this step, but you can also scroll down to choose the Delete Account command. Tap on the button that’s at the bottom of your Manage My Account screen.

You will be directed to a confirmation page that provides more details about deleting your account.

If you created a TikTok account through another social media platform, such as Twitter or Facebook, then you will need to choose Verify and Continue to sign into that service before the delete-related confirmation page appears.

  1. Confirm Your Deletion

You must scroll down to tap the large Delete Account button that appears. Then you will see a pop-up appear that asks you to delete the account once again. Depending on how you set up the security on your profile, you might need to verify your phone number and enter a confirmation code before this step is complete.

Once you confirm that you want to delete your TikTok account, the action is immediate. Your videos will no longer be visible to other people on the app. Make sure that you save any content first before finalizing this process to prevent losing it.

What Happens After I Delete My TikTok Profile?

► Play

Some instructional guides on how to delete a TikTok profile say that you can reverse this action if you do so in less than 30 days.

The official TikTok Help Guide specifically says that “deleting your account is permanent and can’t be reversed.” The app suggests that anyone having an issue with the platform should contact customer service first to resolve their issues.

Once you follow all of the steps in the app to delete your account, then you can no longer use it for login purposes. You lose access to all of the videos previously posted and any purchased items.

Shared information from chat messages and other platform communication might still be visible to others.

Send us a feedback0/500

Do you like this article?
Yes
No